Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards

Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine

The Watson Award is UT Southwestern’s highest honor in clinical care. Established in 2009 through a gift from Dr. William L. Watson Jr. – a UT Southwestern alumnus – and his wife, Patricia, it provides the opportunity to recognize a UT Southwestern faculty physician who exemplifies excellence in patient care, is a leader in advancing clinical innovations, and has had a profound impact on students, trainees, colleagues, and patients.

The Watson Award recipient is chosen by a select committee of physician leaders who review nominations. All members of the UT Southwestern community are welcome to submit a nomination.

See distinguished past winners

Award Eligibility Criteria

Length of service at UT Southwestern must meet or exceed 10 years.

Nomination Information

Nomination should provide specific examples of how the nominee

  • Is generally recognized by their colleagues for the significant and positive impact they have made on patients, families, and fellow clinicians.
  • Has a history of sharing their expertise with colleagues and mentees, and is known for a strong commitment to, and active participation in, activities that advance the institution, improve patient care, and contribute to UT Southwestern’s ability to achieve the highest standards of clinical excellence.
  • Press Ganey scores and other relevant patient feedback should reflect the consistent, compassionate delivery of exceptional patient care.

Nominations will be accepted online from June 20 - August 3.

Submit a Nominee

“Watson Award recipients embody the special combination of clinical expertise and humanism that results in the delivery of truly exceptional patient care. The Watson Award winner is widely regarded as a ‘physician’s physician’ and a model of clinical commitment and excellence.”

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D.

President, UT Southwestern Medical Center